The research group dedicates itself to basic research and applied science in the fields of learning and memory. The focus here is on the following research questions: What are the bases of good memory capacity?

How do individual differences in perception and the use of strategies affect our memory performance and recall ability? Are perceptive faculties and memory capacity improved through training? How can learning and recall be optimised in everyday life?

To research these and other questions, the research group also repeatedly investigates people from specific population groups such as grapheme-colour synaesthetes or colour experts in addition to people from the general population. In grapheme-colour synaesthesia, black on white printed letters and/or figures trigger colour experiences. For example, the letter A may always trigger a red colour experience for a synaesthete. Colour expertise concerns extraordinary capacities in the perception of colours which have been acquired due to intensive involvement with colour (e.g. through painting).

Methodologically, the research group uses behavioural measurement, psychophysiological correlatives (electrodermal activity) and neurophysiological correlatives (electroencephalography). Other methodological interests of the research group are the use and development of information technologies. This involves the use of web applications, which can be accessed through a variety of devices (smartphones, tablets and desktop computers).

The use of new information technologies not only has the advantage that laboratory-based findings can be investigated in more representative samples of the general population, but also offers the opportunity of examining findings from basic research in application-based studies for everyday relevance. The specific interest of the research group is therefore the optimisation of learning and recall processes in everyday life.

Portrait of Nicolas Rothen Nicolas Rothen Associate Professor
Portrait de Simon Gorin Simon Gorin Research Assistant
Portrait of Nik Hunziker Nik Hunziker Research Assistant
Portrait of Sandy Marca Sandy Marca Research AssistantPhD Student
Portrait de Mariela Mihaylova Mariela Mihaylova Research AssistantPhD Student
Portrait of Alodie Rey-Mermet Alodie Rey-Mermet Research Assistant
Portrait of Nicole Heidi Skieresz Nicole Heidi Skieresz Research AssistantPhD Student

School of Tomorrow

Faculty of Psychology

Using virtual reality to investigate access, fidelity, and vividness of visual mental representations

Faculty of Psychology

Interaction of learning principles in acquiring a new second language

Faculty of Psychology

Cognitive capacity in the presence of a smartphone

Faculty of Psychology

Le travail de ce groupe est axé sur la recherche fondamentale et la science appliquée dans les domaines de l’apprentissage et de la mémoire. Il porte notamment sur la question suivante : quelles sont les bases d’une bonne capacité de mémorisation ?

 Comment les différences individuelles en matière de perception et d’utilisation de stratégies influent-elles sur notre capacité de mémorisation et de récupération des informations ? Peut-on améliorer ses capacités de perception et de mémorisation grâce à un entraînement ? Comment optimiser l’apprentissage et la capacité de récupération des informations au quotidien ?

Pour répondre à ces questions et à bien d’autres encore, le groupe de recherche étudie des personnes de la population générale, mais régulièrement aussi des personnes appartenant à des groupes spécifiques, telles que des synesthètes graphème-couleur ou des expert-e-s en couleurs. Les synesthètes graphème-couleur ont une perception colorée des lettres et/ou des chiffres écrits en noir sur fond blanc. Chez ces personnes, la lettre A peut par exemple être systématiquement associée à la couleur rouge. Quant aux expert-e-s en couleurs, elles/ils disposent d’une capacité extraordinaire à percevoir celles-ci grâce à une activité intensive en rapport avec elles (par ex. la peinture).

Le groupe de recherche utilise de façon méthodique la mesure comportementale, des corrélations psychophysiologiques (activité électrodermale) et des corrélations neurophysiologiques (électroencéphalographie). Il s’intéresse également à l’utilisation et au développement de nouvelles technologies de l’information. Dans ce contexte, ses études impliquent le recours à des applications web accessibles sur différents appareils mobiles (smartphones, tablettes, ordinateurs de bureau).

Les nouvelles technologies de l’information permettent non seulement d’analyser des résultats obtenus en laboratoire sur la base d’échantillons plus représentatifs de la population globale, mais aussi de vérifier la pertinence quotidienne des résultats de la recherche fondamentale dans le cadre d’études de recherche appliquée. Dans ce domaine, le groupe de recherche vise concrètement une optimisation au quotidien des processus d’apprentissage et de récupération des informations.

Portrait de Nicolas Rothen Nicolas Rothen Professeur extraordinaire
Portrait de Simon Gorin Simon Gorin Assistant de recherche
Portrait de Nik Hunziker Nik Hunziker Assistant de recherche
Portrait de Sandy Marca Sandy Marca Assistante de rechercheDoctorante
Portrait de Mariela Mihaylova Mariela Mihaylova Assistante de rechercheDoctorante
Portrait de Alodie Rey-Mermet Alodie Rey-Mermet Assistante de recherche
Portrait de Nicole Heidi Skieresz Nicole Heidi Skieresz Assistante de rechercheDoctorante

L’école de demain

Faculté de psychologie

Using virtual reality to investigate access, fidelity, and vividness of visual mental representations

Faculté de psychologie

Interaction of learning principles in acquiring a new second language

Faculté de psychologie

Cognitive capacity in the presence of a smartphone

Faculté de psychologie